Nincompoop – ever heard of ’em ?

Standard

Well! It’s been a while since i got on to my blog, but it’s been about a year and I kinda gave up believing that there were intelligent HR people to consider for job openings, so, i took to the other passions in my life and it’s proved alright.

I’m sure you’ve heard of the word ” NINCOMPOOP” if not the definition on the free online dictionary states ” a person who is silly, foolish or stupid, an incompetent or an extremely naive person”. It’s my favorite word lately for training dept. heads and other people who have dared to interview me along the way.

This is about an experience I had with a company that hired me for a week long process in training their new hires to interview and bluff their clients sitting in the USA. I didn’t know it until i took on the offer. Either way, I was interviewed by Yogi the bear (to put it subtly, but even the bear is more intelligent) & Princess Fiona (before she becomes an ogre) (All she had were the looks, she pretty much, failed in other areas of her performance). So keeping in mind these 2 characters, i took on the role to train their new hires who they claimed to be above average on their spoken skills, no doubt they have been better than most recruits I’ve seen.

The 2 nincompoops I met, brought little to the table in terms of knowledge and skill. I heard one trainer say to his trainees, and i quote “talk shit on the phone to the client but make it believable” – I mean really! how idiotic can that sound. Either way not to get in the way of their refined methodology, I resorted to my way of training and did the best i could. I was then summoned by the training manager “princess lea”, who flipped her locks from side to side, ever so often that it took away my attention from the crap she was talking.

After about 2 days I realized they not only spoke and taught rubbish but also that the entire management didn’t see through it. Being really happy that i wasn’t part of the organization i decided to voice my opinion about their methods, and well! i didn’t realize in all that time, they were actually afraid I would let the cat out of the bag.

They didn’t ask me to stay the entire week, because of the following reasons.

*I did not tell the trainees to make “shit” sound believable
*I saved the training department Rs. 4000 for my services on a day when there was no work.
*I told them what i thought of their methods when I was asked for my opinion.

If you don’t call such people ‘Nincompoops’ what better word is there? – oh yeah! numskull, nitwit, dimwit, twit, gonzo and …well! i think “nincompoop still rolls on this one!”.

You do judge an organization on the quality of people they hold, atleast I do. I do think all organizations especially their HR and Training departments should be in constant check of their employees and their working routines, to filter out what is really beneficial to the company.

Leave a comment